Author Topic: Custom made incubators  (Read 18034 times)

John W Blehm

• Lifetime Member
  • Ameraucana Guru
Custom made incubators
« on: April 23, 2015, 08:52:33 PM »
Back during the winter of 2012-13 I built 2 setter incubators and 2 hatcher incubators.  The setters have 6 egg trays that hold 132 LF eggs each for a capacity of 792 eggs per setter.  I'm using 350 watt strip heaters along with proportional heating thermostats.  The cabinets are made from 1/2" plastic board.  Most of the fasteners are stainless steel and the racks are aluminum (fabricated at a local welding shop).  I used the same fans, latches and other parts that GQF uses in their cabinet incubators, but these are totally my design.  The window in the door design is my too.  I know that GQF now puts acrylic windows in their doors, but I've been modifying their units for many years before they started doing it.  I mounted a control box on top with the pilot light on top of it, the toggle switch on the RH side and the digital thermostat in the front so I don't have to look around the side to see the temp.  I put 2 fans in each unit.  Also, I put doors on the backs of the hatchers for easy cleaning.  The Herpstat controllers work great.  It is pretty neat that although the heat elements are 350 watts in each incubator they don't always run at full power/watts.  The Herpstat is a "proportional" temperature controller and only sends enough power to the elements to maintain the required temperature.  With most incubators (old ones anyway) the heating element is either on (100%) or off and the thermostat works as an On - Off switch.  I'm sure these proportional temperature controllers save on my electric bill as they send just enough juice to the elements...like a dimmer switch for house lights.  The plastic egg tray and hatch baskets were purchased used and are from large commercial incubators.  I designed my setters around those egg trays and my hatchers around those hatch baskets.