Author Topic: Comb Critiques  (Read 5490 times)

Temple DaSilva

Comb Critiques
« on: August 02, 2015, 08:00:57 PM »
As a super new newbie, I was hoping this group could give me some guidance in critiquing the combs on four bantam white cockerels I recently acquired.  These boys are four months old.  I'll post one photo of each but have additional.  The colored zip tie in the photo (or file name) can be used for identification.  Thanks in advance and I'm looking forward to learning a thing or two... or twenty!

Suki

• Ameraucana Guru
Re: Comb Critiques
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2015, 08:20:25 PM »
I can't help you Temple, but I can copy from the APA Standard...the pea is a medium length, low comb the top of which is marked with 3 low lengthwise ridges.  The center one, and this is the important part, is slightly higher than the two outside ones. All ridges should be either undulated or marked with small rounded serrations and straight.

HTH Brownie

John W Blehm

• Lifetime Member
  • Ameraucana Guru
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2015, 08:31:01 PM »
Side views would also help, but from what I can see my favorite is the purple or 4th photo.  I know it shows some feathers growing from the comb and the three ridges could be better defined, but it appears to be the one that is closest to the skull and follows the contour without coming up in the back to leaving  a big gap between the comb and skull. 

Mike Gilbert

• Lifetime Member
  • Ameraucana Guru
« Reply #3 on: August 02, 2015, 10:19:05 PM »
Side views would help!
Mike Gilbert
1st John 5:11-13

Temple DaSilva

« Reply #4 on: August 03, 2015, 06:10:45 AM »
Apologies for not including side views initially.  Here are three of the four. I forgot to get Green's but will today.

Russ Blair

• Administrator
  • Ameraucana Guru
« Reply #5 on: August 03, 2015, 06:34:18 PM »