Author Topic: LT vaccination program  (Read 1833 times)

Brad Stonebarger

LT vaccination program
« on: July 08, 2018, 03:58:53 PM »
Hello all,

I’m trying to get some info on how to properly go about vaccinating our birds for LT. I plan on using
LT-IVAX. I guess my question is , I’ve never done this before and was wondering if I vaccinate the whole flock?
I know your suppose to vaccinate at least  4 weeks after the last hatch then at 10 weeks for a booster but I’d just like to know if you do the whole flock twice ? Some of our breeders are 2-4 years old. Should they be vaccinated as well ?
Also does anyone have any experience with any side affects using the LT-IVAX? Like everyone else my birds have had some respiratory issues from time to time, nothing serious ,but I’d like to know if this vaccine would cause some serious complications.
Thank y’all for your help and opinions!

John W Blehm

• Lifetime Member
  • Ameraucana Guru
Re: LT vaccination program
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2018, 11:15:42 PM »
If you want to vaccinate against ILT use LT-IVAX®.  It is important to only use a Tissue culture origin (TCO) ILT vaccine because they do not shed the virus...it won't go from bird to bird.  The Chicken embryo origin (CEO) vaccines are more powerful and can spread the virus. Vaccinate all chickens 4 weeks and older and then do it again in 6 weeks.  Do the whole flock each year.  It is administered via eye-drop or nostril.

Also check out this topic...http://ameraucanaalliance.org/forum/index.php?topic=820.msg5737#msg5737

Brad Stonebarger

« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2018, 09:18:06 AM »
Does anyone know anything about a product called INNOVAX-ILT? Apparently according to what I’ve read it is a Mareks and LT vaccine in one and is administered just like Mareks vaccine . It can be given to day olds. Only thing is it has to be stored in a nitrogen tank.

John W Blehm

• Lifetime Member
  • Ameraucana Guru
« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2018, 11:35:04 AM »